Baptism Cookies

About a month ago, a friend of mine asked me to make some cookies for her daughter’s baptism.  I was beyond flattered and incredibly nervous as this was my first ever “customer”!  She wanted crosses and gave me creative license with a colour scheme of white with pink accents.

One lesson I quickly learned was that some cutters are not as common as you’d think.  I didn’t have a cross cutter but was certain I’d seen them in a number of stores and yet when I went out to buy one, not a single store had them.  Evidently they’re considered a seasonal cutter and available mostly around Easter*.  Luckily, my wonderful husband was able to build me a custom cross cutter.  I love that man.

(*Of course a few weeks later, closer to Christmas, I found a cross cutter at Target…because isn’t that just how things go sometimes!)

I looked up some inspiration and decided to try my hand at some new techniques I’d been eyeing: lace, quilting, wet on wet roses and some royal icing rose transfers.  I’m happy to report that all worked out fairly well.  I wasn’t 100% happy with my quilted pattern so I’ll have to practice that one.   I was nervous about piping the lace too but it turned out to be easier than I expected and surprisingly incredibly relaxing!  I got lost in the pattern and time just flew by.

Here are some pictures of the final product:

IMG_4355

IMG_4357

I really enjoyed making the royal icing roses and have a ton left over that I’m itching to use!

IMG_4358

IMG_4367The wet on wet swirl roses were another favourite.  I watched Sweet Ambs video tutorial to get a good grasp on the technique.  You have to work fast before the icing dries but it makes such a pretty product.  I already have ideas for other applications of this technique.

IMG_4362

I also made a special monogram set for the guest of honour. IMG_4363IMG_4364

3 thoughts on “Baptism Cookies

  1. Alana says:

    Just seeing this now! These were absolutely perfect for B’s baptism day 🙂 You definitely have talent! Don’t be surprised if you hear from me again in the near future to place my second order…her 1st birthday will be here before you know it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

