You Are My Sunshine 1st Birthday Cookies

Our little girl recently turned 1 – I still can’t believe a full year has gone by since we became a family of four! She’s brought so much love and laughter into our lives. She is our little sunshine girl. It seemed fitting then to have a sunshine theme for her birthday!

She was born in December, so unfortunately she’ll forever have to share her birthday month with Christmas (and I cringe at the thought that she’ll no doubt someday get a birthday present wrapped in Christmas paper!), so I wanted to go with a theme that was totally opposite to winter and Christmas.

The song “You Are My Sunshine” also holds a special place in my heart as it was the song my mom used to sing to me when I was a baby. I’ve sung it to both my little ones and get emotional just thinking of the lyrics.

In honour of all those things, I went with a pink and yellow colour scheme and made sun and cloud cookies along with a few personalized number “1” and monogrammed cookies.  I didn’t have a cloud cookie cutter so I got creative and used a flower cutter then cut the shape in half to make two clouds. It worked surprisingly well!

IMG_4928

I had made pink “peonie” royal icing transfers when I was making roses and I thought they added a pretty touch to the set.

IMG_4925

We already had these prints for our master bedroom so I used them to help with the decor – it worked really well! I highly recommend repurposing existing decor for special occasions.

image3

IMG_5025

IMG_5024

IMG_5020

IMG_5022

IMG_5023

IMG_5021

My piping icing could have been a little stiffer for the wording.  I’ll have to practice getting the right consistency.

IMG_5035

IMG_5033

IMG_5038

image_23

I baked lemon cupcakes with raspberry buttercream frosting to serve along with the cookies (and the rest of the spread!). I loved the pink and yellow – it was so bright and cheerful, just like the birthday girl!

IMG_5045

IMG_5044

IMG_5043

She had a great time digging into her birthday cupcake and made a complete mess of herself – just like a one year old should! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

